Break out your walking shoes…and camera

In an effort to expand my photo horizons, last year I signed up to participate in Scott Kelby’s Worldwide Photowalk. I headed down to Galveston way before the crack of dawn in order to capture some sunrise photos along The Strand.

Unfortunately, it was a cloudy morning and the sunrise was less than spectacular. However, the gathering gave me a creative boost. I met several photographers from the Houston area and made some really good friends along the way.

The Photowalk is FREE and all you need is a good pair of walking shoes and a camera. Any camera. You do not have to be a ‘professional’ or ‘semi-professional’ photographer. The walk is a social gathering of photographers, rather than an educational event. However, like all good photographers do…we learn from each other along the way.

This year, Kelby’s Worldwide Photowalk is October 1-2. I’ve already signed up for the Galveston Strand photowalk once again. It’s not full yet, so check it out. And thankfully…it’s not quite so early this year.

I highly recommend finding photowalk in your area! Or, better yet…join me in Galveston. Drop me a line to let me know you’re participating…wherever you choose to focus your camera.

1 thought on “Break out your walking shoes…and camera

Leave a comment